smclewis

Sonnet Written Upon the Realization that Summer Will End

In 1 on July 14, 2009 at 3:52 am
She said, "Awwww! He's so cute!"

She said, "Awwww! He's so cute!"

Popsicle Hours

 

Summertime, summertime, your sweet embrace

wraps around me in silent wonder,

the slow, the slacking, steady pace,

the sinking down and under.

 

The popsicle hours of nothing to do

melt slowly like candle wax dripping

and to the wondering of whys and whos

my mind will go atripping.

 

I read. I think, with the sun on my cheek,

and my toes in the sand on the shore,

I stay up all night like a vampire freak

and selfishly wish for more.

 

Time, time, for what it’s worth,

to spend it slowly is much like mirth

Leave a Reply

